The Faculty of Management sciences started in 2006/2007 Academic session after many years of persistent struggle for the creation of the Faculty which began in 1983. The Senate of the University at its 195th regular meeting held on Wednesday 30th August, 2006, considered and approved the splitting of the Faculty of Social Sciences into two viz: Faculty of Social Sciences and Faculty of Management Sciences. Faculty of Management sciences therefore came into existence on 1st October, 2006 with three (03) Departments namely, Accounting, Banking and Finance and Business Administration.

Historically, the Department of Business Administration emerged from the Department of Economics and Statistics in 1977. Department of Accounting emerged from the Department of Business Administration as a full Department in 1981/1982 session. Banking and Finance was a fully developed programme

in the Department of Economics and Statistics, and therefore, emerged from that Department into full-fledged Department in 2006/2007 session.

The pioneer Dean of the Faculty of Management Sciences is Professor B. Eseosa Bob-Osaze, 2006-2010. Followed by Professor B. A. Agbonifoh, 2010 -2012, Professor Famous I. O. Izedonmi, 2012-2014, followed by Ven. Prof. I.O. Osamwonyi, 2014 -2016, followed by Professor P. O. Eriki, 2016-2018 and the current Dean, Professor Ofuan James Ilaboya, 2018 to date.

The first Faculty Officer of the Faculty of Management Sciences is Mr. N.

  1. Omozusi, 2006 to 2008, Mr. E. S. Omagbon, 2008 to 2015. Followed by Ms

Mercy I. Osaseri and the current Faculty Officer Miss Dere Loveth Edemi. The Faculty of management sciences has a honours roll situated in the Dean’s office. This honours roll is divided into two parts.

Part one is the names of the Faculty benefactors these are;

  1. Professor Adebayo Akerele
  2. Bashorun M.K.O Abiola
  3. Professor Abhulimen R. Anao
  4. Nigeria Stock Exchange
  5. Securities and Exchange Commission
  6. Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria
  7. Partnership Investment Company Limited
  8. Victor Ogiemwonyi
  9. Federal Inland Revenue Service

While the second part, is the names of those occupying chairs endowed by some

of the benefactors. These are:

  1. Professor Eseosa Bob-Osaze – Nigeria Stock Exchange
  2. Professor F.I.O Izedonmi – Institute of Chartered

Accountants of Nigeria

  1. Professor E.A Okoye – Federal Inland Revenue Service